Fabulous Fashionistas of Didsbury!

3 Nov

didsbury ladies

I was at a Fashion Show on Friday night at Emmanuel Church in Didsbury in aid of the Vine Project. VINE is a unique venture aimed to create a fund to support vulnerable children in a township in KwaZulu Natal who have lost their parents through AIDS. This is now the leading cause of death in South Africa. Please take a look at this amazing charity and the work they do.

It was a fantastic night full of atmosphere and fun!

I had the pleasure to meet these two amazing ladies who were dressed in a riot of bright colours! They were so full of life and “joie de vivre” – just look at those beaming smiles! They really knew how to make an impact with colour. Dressing in colourful clothing really can bring us into a more positive mood and these ladies are living proof of that. I loved them! I did jot down their names, some bits and bobs about their fashion inspirations and their combined age 🙂

Unfortunately, I appear to have lost my note pad, so, lovely ladies, if you are reading this please contact me again with this information and I will be happy to include it!

UPDATE:

Rose has kindly got in touch with the following info – thanks Rose!

I am Rose Snow. The outfit I was wearing was a remade skirt form Biba in the early 70’s. It was originally flared. The jacket was EAST, padded and embroidered silk bought from an Oxfam shop for ÂŁ30. I am inspired by BEAUTY and love colours, comfort and individuality in fashion. I have always loved fashion from being a little girl. My favourite playthings were cardboard cut out dolls with cut out clothes. Fay said she loved these playthings too. My friends name is Fay Barratt. She is a painter, I am a poet. I have copied Fay in to this email. Our combined age is 129 – work that out”

“(Wo)Man needs colour to live; it’s just as necessary an element as fire and water.” Fernand Leger

17 Responses to “Fabulous Fashionistas of Didsbury!”

  1. expressionconfession November 8, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

    Wow I wish i’d have been there! I know that church well.

  2. Isabel Munich November 9, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

    I bet you like then advanced style blog, too! Love elderly people not losing their fun with fashion!

    • faybarratt November 9, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

      Hey Isabel, I like the sentiment but a bit less of the ‘elderly’ please! I think I prefer old or older.
      from the one on the left who is 66yrs old this month.

      • susanstylesyou November 9, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

        Hear hear! Fabulous fashionistas definitley not elderly!

    • susanstylesyou November 9, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

      I love Ari Seth Cohen’s Advance Style blog yes! But wouldn’t call these Fabulous Fashionistas elderley!

      • Erin Rush November 10, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

        Looks like great fun and horray for colour!

      • susanstylesyou November 10, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

        Absolutely!

  3. Vicky Frankland November 10, 2013 at 7:13 pm #

    What an inspiration they are too. No need to get boring just because you get older

  4. Kate November 10, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    Totally agree with Vicky, very inspirational ladies, I shall aspire to that as I age…hopefully gracefully!! 😉

  5. Kerrie McGiveron November 10, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

    Aww this is great. I’m only 31 and I always wear grey and black. It’s dead boring and I’e tasked myself with finding colourful clothes! x

    • susanstylesyou November 11, 2013 at 8:21 am #

      Kerrie, try injecting some colour in your wardrobe – it makes such a difference – especially on a dull morning like today!

  6. Heather @ Bury Family Life November 11, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

    oh wow this sounds fab 🙂

  7. From Little Things @FrmLittleThings November 11, 2013 at 8:07 pm #

    Nothing like a splash of colour on cold winter days to perk you up!

  8. Hurnae November 12, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

    Love the colours they are in. I am a firm believer that winter shouldn’t mean a colour-lapse. Bring on the bolds and the brights!!

    Kate H (NW Bloggers)
    Little Mix for Collection Cosmetics

Leave a Reply

