Handbags at Dawn

26 Jul
Boticca

“But why do we find bags so desirable? It’s partly because they’ve become a unique outward statement of a woman’s status, fashion savvy and earning power – and the rising popularity of handbags over the past 100 years has followed the increasing social independence of their owners” Daily Mail

I am in the market for a new handbag. Those of you who know me personally will be familiar with my Vivienne Westwood beige heart shaped handbag. I have had this bag for about 4 or 5 years now and I use it nearly every day. I always say that if I had a pound coin for every person who has liked or commented on my handbag , it would have paid for the handbag and probably more! By the way, it is not just women who compliment me on it but men too. Anyway. I am sorry to say it is starting to get a bit tatty now and I have already started to look for a replacement. I was devastated to discover that this particular bag is no longer available as I would have loved exactly the same one again. Ebay searches have proved fruitless. There is nothing in the new season Westwood collection that I am particularly drawn to. Therefore, my search has widened.

So, what am I looking for in this new handbag? Well, I would like something that I can use as an every day bag so the colour should be neutral, but it needs to make a statement too. As I am petite, I don’t want anything that will overwhelm my frame. My body shape suggests that a structured bag is more flattering than a squishy one. The metalwork has to be gold. BUT, then again, being a “Dramatic” Style Personality, I am likely to break all these rules if I find “THE ONE”. I don’t mind spending a bit on a handbag as I look at it as an investment – it is price per wear that counts not the actual price of the item.

I have been trawling around various websites in my quest and happened upon Boticca, and to be honest, I am finding myself drawn back to this one every time. The range of handbags is fantastic with lots of colours, shapes and styles. Boticca is THE online boutique for unique jewellery and fashion accessories. They are constantly on the look out for the very best emerging designers from around the world to feature on their website. Its more of a market place where you can interact with and buy directly from the designer.

There are lots that have caught my eye:

1. First up, I love this vintage style Alicia tote(was £245 now 30% off at £171.50). It has clean lines but with hint of romance and glamour. It has gold hardware. It can be used as a handbag or a cross body bag so pretty versatile. It is designed by Flaska Laverne from Madrid.

2. The Carlotta handbag (£167) is very elegant but quirkily made of wood so very ecological. I am not sure if it is a bit too large for me though. The designer is Embawo from Milan.

3. The Lulu cream tote (was £241.00 now 30% off at £168.70) is also vintage inspired and is very elegant. I love the timeless design and the vibrant colour pop. It has gold hardware and can be carried or worn cross body. My concern is that the red might not make it suitable for every day. BUT I am a dramatic! The Lulu is designed by Flaska Laverne in Madrid.

4. Finally the Brujo (was £266.00 now 30% off at £186.20) is a chic vintage style doctor’s bag. It can be work across the body. It is modern but won’t date easily. This is also designed by Flaska Laverne.

Which one to choose??? I want them all!

They have a fantastic sale on at the moment with some items at 70 per cent off! They also have FREE worldwide shipping! They don’t just sell handbags, they sell lovely scarves and jewellery too. Go grab yourself a cuppa and have a browse. Be warned – its addictive!

2 Responses to “Handbags at Dawn”

  1. redrosemummy July 29, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

    My favourite is the third one I think. I’d totally go for red everyday!

    • susanstylesyou July 29, 2013 at 5:40 pm #

      The red one is lovely but I think it might be a bit big for me every day.

Leave a Reply

