Pale is the new tan!

14 Jul

I seem to have had an increase in the number of clients who have very pale skin and they are unhappy with that fact. They have asked my advice on how they can “warm up their skin”.

I used to be exactly the same. When I was younger I would lie in the sun for hours on end and finish up a not very attractive tomato colour. I also invested a great deal of time and money on sunbeds. I believed that if I did this often enough my skin would somehow gradually go brown. It took me a long (and very painful) time for me to discover that, try as hard as I might, my skin was NEVER going to go brown. I now know that my skin does not contain melanin which means it cannot tan.

My next stage was fake tan. I tried every single one on the market, cheap ones, expensive ones, permanent ones, wash off ones, spray tans. You name it, I tried it. I would religiously apply my self tan every few days. It would always be patchy, especial around my ankles. Also, all these products smell awful. However, I figured that a streaky tan was better than being white.

I don’t know the exact moment that I decided to try and accept my pale skin but it definitely had something to do with Nicola Roberts from Girls Aloud. She began to be obsessed with having a fake tan in the early days of her career. As she grew older and more self-assured, she found herself tiring of her self-tanning routine. Encouraged by her management and band mates she let herself return to her natural colouring.

It wasn’t over night for me but gradually I began to love my pale skin and I now see it as part of natural beauty.

I think these ladies have come to me for a reason and I have encouraged them to embrace their paleness and make it a feature! If you are wearing the correct colours for your skin tone in your clothes and your make-up you will look fab. Pale skinned ladies please ditch the bronzer.

Think of Dita Von Tease. She is living proof that sexy does not equal golden. It really does not matter what colour your skin is – every skin tone is beautiful – just go with what nature has intended. It is certainly a lot less hassle and a lot cheaper to be a pale skinned beauty! Other advantages are I can use white towels and bed sheets!

So ladies be pale and proud!

4 Responses to “Pale is the new tan!”

  1. Jane July 20, 2012 at 7:38 am #

    Hi,
    Thanks for visiting my blog.
    I agree. Although I don’t have pale skin I do love pale skin on others. My skin is sallow and tans easily in summer but is all yellowy in winter. I would much prefer a pale skin year-round.

  2. Emma White (@TheRealSupermum) July 20, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    OK I had a rather expensive spray tan done a few months ago and I turned into an orange, biggest mistake I made as it was a complete mess, I did become rather an addict to sun beds in my early days so stay clear of them now. The one product I do like is one by Johnsons its a moisturiser with a hint of tan and over time it does build up. I am all for pink is the new look as I have had far too many disasters with fake tan.

    • susanstylesyou July 29, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

      Been there, done that, got the tshirt! And it seems to take forever to fade doesn’t it?

  3. susanstylesyou July 21, 2012 at 7:37 am #

    Not very often someone says they prefer pale skin!

Leave a Reply

