“People have never looked so ugly as they do today …”

24 Feb

“People have never looked so ugly as they do today. We just consume far too much … I’m talking about all this disposable crap,” This was Dame Vivienne Westwood talking at London Fashion week recently.

Is she right? Well, she does have a point. I have to admit that I do sometimes despair when I walk about in Manchester city centre and witness for myself the lack of effort people have put into getting dressed in the morning. I always look forward to planning my outfit for the day and even if I am not doing anything particularly special, my outfit is carefully thought out.

I am presuming that Ms Westwood is having a dig at shops such as Primark. I absolutely love Primark. People often comment on something I am wearing and they are visibly shocked when I tell them it is from Primark.

She was also quoted as saying “In history, people dressed much better than we do today. If you saw Queen Elizabeth it would be amazing, she came from another planet.” . All very well and good but Queen Elizabeth was fortunate enough to have the finest dressmakers on hand with the choice of the most expensive materials. When you have those kind of resources, looking good is easy!

Unfortunately, the current economic climate means that people have less to spend on fashion and buying the latest “must haves” is still a luxury that only the rich can consistently afford.

However, you should not be a slave to fashion. Whatever your age, you can still look amazing so long as you are wearing the correct colours for your skin tone, hair colour and eye colour. Whether your clothes are from Primark or Prada, wearing colour will make you feel like this lady to the left!

As an example, yesterday I was on my way to a meeting when I passed a rather dapper chap, probably in his 70s. He had the most amazing silver hair and he was wearing lilac trousers, a lilac cardigan and a pink shirt. He looked fabulous! I only wish I had taken the time to have a chat with him and, with his pernission, taken a photo. But the moment passed. Follow this gent’s example this spring and try a new colour.

As Yves St Laurent said “Fashions fade, style is eternal”.

Leave a Reply

